Friends of Holden Park
The Friends of Oakworth (Holden) Park
Our group was established in April 2004 when Mavis Curtis and Allan Rhodes decided to set up a group of like minded people who wished to maintain and improve the beauty of the park and Isaac Holden's unique stone grottos.
The Friends of Holden Park
In 2009 we changed the name of the group because it was felt that we should more closely promote the name of the park as it was originally christened when it was opened in 1925. Local people still call it 'Oakworth Park' but it was felt that we should remain true to the original name and the intention of Sir Francis Holden Illingworth and the Oakworth Local Board when the park was first opened.